2008-2009

 

wespenwand-kl

 

In der installativen Foto-Wandcollage Story Tales wird einerseits der vorhandenen Zeitsprung von 25 Jahren und das Eintauchen in die Erinnerung heraufbeschworen, andererseits die Differenz der Kontexte, die fotografisches Bildmaterial aufladen, zur Diskussion gestellt.

Tina Bara sucht ihre ehemaligen Weggefährtinnen und fotografiert sie als Rückenansichten im Wasser stehend nach 25 Jahren noch einmal. Ebenso dokumentiert sie die noch vorhandenen privaten Erinnerungsfotografien vom Treffen am See in den jeweiligen privaten Archiven.

Alba D'Urbano komponiert die „neuen“ Fotografien zusammen mit einer Auswahl aus neu vergrößerten Abzügen des alten Materials, Dokumentationsfotos von Dora Garcias Arbeit im Kunstkontext, einer Variation der Weiteraneignung dieser Bilder und „originalen“ BSTU-Fotografien sowie einem kurzen Text eine Wandinstallation, die erzählerisch, metaphorisch und reflexiv angelegt ist.

 

Wandtext:

Covergirl: Wespen-Akte

 

Im Sommer 2007 entdeckte ich auf dem Arbeitstisch meiner Kollegin Alba D’Urbano einen Katalog, dessen Titelfoto mich unerwartet stark irritierte. Das Bild auf dem Umschlag zeigt eine nackte, sitzende junge Frau mit einem schwarzen Balken über den Augen, die Unterzeile bildet ein Stempel der BStU (Behörde der Bundesbeauftragten für die Unterlagen des Staatssicherheitsdienstes). Die Frau war ich vor 25 Jahren. Im Katalog sind weitere Fotos von nackten Frauen, die am Ufer eines Sees sitzen, abgebildet.

Alba berichtete von einer interessanten, aber widersprüchlichen Ausstellung einer spanischen Künstlerin zum Thema Staatssicherheit und DDR, die sie mit ihren Studierenden in der Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst gesehen hatte. Viel schneller als ich, die ich auf das Cover des Ausstellungskataloges starrte, begriff sie diese Episode als komplexe Fragestellung, die mir auf diesem ungewöhnlichen Weg begegnet ist. In der Folge beschlossen wir, gemeinsam eine Arbeit zu entwickeln.

Ich recherchierte etwas, war enttäuscht über einen Brief der BStU, den ich als Antwort auf einige Fragen zum problematischen Umgang mit dem Bildmaterial erhalten hatte. Dann wurden die Bilder des Kataloges auf dem Art-Forum in Berlin bei zwei Galerien als Kunstwerke der spanischen Künstlerin gezeigt. Einige der dargestellten Personen erkannten sich trotz schwarzer Balken über den Augen. Wir beschlossenen, uns die mehrfach angeeigneten Bilder erneut anzueignen, um über den Kreislauf und die Verwertung von Bildern und Archivmaterial nachzudenken.

„Wespen-Akte“ war der Deckname der Staatssicherheit für die „Frauen für den Frieden“, die sich in der DDR der 80er Jahre für Entmilitarisierung, Abrüstung und eine friedensgemäße Kindererziehung in der DDR engagierten. Die Fotos im Katalog zeigen ein privates Treffen der Frauen im Sommer 1983. Zwei Hobbyfotografinnen, Katja Havemann und ich, hatten diese Momente dokumentiert. Einige dieser Fotografien landeten als Beweismaterial nach einer Hausdurchsuchung bei einer der Protagonistinnen bei der Staatssicherheit.

Nachdem ich die abgebildeten Frauen fast zwei Jahrzehnte aus den Augen verloren hatte, traf ich sie wieder.

 

Karin Teichert, Ulrike Poppe, Katja Havemann, Rommy Baumann-Sevim, Ruth Leiserowitz, Jutta Seidel, Almut Ilsen, Ute Delor, Anne Voß

 

Wir danken Katja Havemann für die Bereitschaft, die noch vorhandenen Negative benutzen zu dürfen und allen anderen für die Bereitstellung ihres Fotomaterials, als auch der BSTU, die nach einer internen Diskussion erneut das ehemalige Beweismaterial für eine künstlerische Arbeit zur Verfügung stellte, diesmal mit einer Einverständniserklärung der abgebildeten Personen.

 

T.B.

 

Fotowand ca. 3 x 15 m:

10 C-prints 80 x 58 cm; 10 C-prints 50 x 60 cm; 8 Baryth prints 47 x 32 cm; 10 Baryth prints 24 x 30 cm; 12 S/W Tintenstrahldrucke 24 x 30cm; 4 S/W Tintenstrahldrucke auf Leinwand 34 x 24 cm; 5 Tintenstrahldrucke 18 x 24 cm; 6 S/W Reproduktionen 14 x 18 cm, DIN A4 Text

 


 

bildwand

hauptprojekt

2008-2009

 

wespenwand-kl

 

 

The photo wall-collage installation Story Tales on the one hand conjures the present leap in time of 25 years and on the other the process of submerging into memories, as the difference of the contexts, which charge the photographic material, are put to debate.

 

Tina Bara searches for her former companions and photographs them in rear view, standing in the water once more after 25 years. Furthermore, she documents the remaining private keepsake photographs of the meeting by the lake in the respective private archives.

 

Together with a selection of new enlarged prints of the old material, photographic documents of Dora Garcia’s work in the context of art, a variation of the further appropriation of these images and “original” BStU - photographs, as well as a short text, the “new” photographs are composed by Alba D’Urbano in a wall installation which constructs a narrative, metaphorical, and reflective space.

 

Text for wall:

Covergirl: Wespen-Akte *

 

In summer 2007 I found a catalogue on the desk of my colleague Alba D’Urbano. Its cover photo had a strongly irritating effect on me. The picture on the cover showed a nude young woman sitting, with a black bar printed across her eyes, and a stamp from the BStU ** providing a caption. That woman was me, 25 years ago. Inside the catalogue there were further photographs of nude women sitting on the edge of a lake.

Alba told me about an interesting, yet contradictorily exhibition by a Spanish artist. It had been concerned with the Ministry for State Security and the GDR, and she had seen it together with her students at the Museum of Contemporary Art Leipzig. Much faster than me, as I was still staring at the cover of the exhibition catalogue, she realised this episode as a complex issue, which I had come across in this unusual way. Consequently, we decided to create a work together.

I did some research, and was disappointed by a letter from the BStU that I received in reply to some questions concerning the problematic use of the photographic material. Later the pictures from the catalogue were presented by two galleries at Art Forum Berlin as artworks by the Spanish artist. Some of the persons in the pictures recognised themselves despite the black bar covering their eyes. We decided to re-appropriate the multiply appropriated images, so as to consider the circulation and utilisation of pictures and archival material.

“Wasp Files” was the code name used by the Ministry for State Security to refer to “Frauen für den Frieden” (“Women for Peace”), a group of activists in the GDR in the 1980s that was promoting demilitarisation, disarmament and the education of children to peace. The photographs inside the catalogue show a private meeting of these women in the summer of 1983. Two hobby photographers, Katja Havemann and myself, had documented these moments. Some of these photographs made their way as evidence to the Ministry for State Security following a house search at the home of one of the protagonists.

After having been out of touch with the women portrayed for almost two decades, I now met them again.

 

Karin Teichert, Ulrike Poppe, Katja Havemann, Rommy Baumann-Sevim, Ruth Leiserowitz, Jutta Seidel, Almut Ilsen, Ute Delor, Anne Voß

 

We would like to thank Katja Havemann for her agreement to let us use the remaining negatives, as well as all the women involved for providing their photographic material, and also the BStU, which, after an internal debate, once more provided the former evidence for use in an artistic work, this time with the consent of the persons depicted.

 

T.B.

 

* The title literally translates as "Covergirl: The Wasp Files". Akte has a double meaning in German: it designates both archival files and nude images.

** BStU = German acronym used to designate the Office of the Federal Commissioner Preserving the Records of the Ministry for State Security of the former GDR

 

Photo wall ca. 3 x 15 m:

10 C-prints 80 x 58 cm; 10 C-prints 50 x 60 cm; 8 Baryte prints 47 x 32 cm; 10 Baryte prints 24 x 30 cm; 12 B/W inkjet prints 24 x 30cm; 4 B/W inkjet prints on canvas 34 x 24 cm; 5 inkjet prints 18 x 24 cm; 6 B/W reproductions 14 x 18 cm, DIN A4 text

 


photo wall

main project